Hi, I’m a Humanist

Religion has been quite the topic for my group of friends lately. One of my friends is strongly an atheist, which can be interesting in debates since he’s also very rational. He and I both grew up in churchgoing households and have since wondered what the hell our parents are thinking.

I remember being a kid and getting ready for church and dressed in what I wanted to wear. According to my mother, my outfit choice was sub-standard. I believe jeans were a part of my ensemble. I was told to change; I didn’t take that well. My mother informed me that I needed to dress better for church. I wanted to know who cared. Apparently, everyone cares. I was curious when church became a fashion event on par with the Oscars. Since I was a kid, I complied and we went on our way. This event still sticks out to me. I’m still confused as to why anyone would give a care how I was dressed. As far as I can tell, the Bible has no dress code and why am I trying to impress anyone with my fashion? I wasn’t going to impress anyone, just worship, give praise to God and all that. I’m pretty sure the Bible cares more about being a good person than my clothes. This was the first time I ever questioned religion and all that jazz. I didn’t want to just go along with it because it was the path of least resistance.

Now that I’m writing this I’m realizing that I rarely go the path of least resistance. Or it could just be called the easiest path. Come to think of it, I was the kid who didn’t care what the other kids were up to in middle and high school. If I liked you, cool. If I didn’t, I never gave a crap if you liked me or even what you thought of me- I don’t like you. Lots of people have a hard time with this. There’s only a few people I’ve ever worked to get their affection, but even that hasn’t panned out well for me. These days, I mostly care if I like me.

For me, I want to be a good person. I like doing the right thing, because it’s the right thing. Sometimes it isn’t the best. There have been times where I question what is for the best. I don’t know what to do. Do I take the direct, be perceived as a huge evil bitch approach which is what they need to hear, or I do let them enjoy the delusion of happiness, even fleeting? I’m still weighing those options, but I’m going to act with the best of intentions and with using a rational approach.

I’ll write more about my current issues coming up. And the two main situations I’m mentally wrestling with. And I think more on religion, how I got to where I am now.

Leave a Reply

