The Southerner

I had an internship and was technically a manager. It was the summer of 2008 and I was working at my hometown Wendy’s. My first day I met Mike. I elbowed him. He made a show of pain and I vowed nest time it would be harder. I’m super nice like that.

We saw each other a lot since we worked together, but kept it mostly professional at work. It wasn’t like I was acting all slutty all the time. I save that for when I’m drunk and I was too young to legally drink.

It was a fun summer being all crazy about a guy. But it didn’t last. It didn’t really have a chance. I went back to school; he stayed put. My life kept moving forward and at a breakneck pace, but he’d never be able to keep up. Phones and the internet can’t save everything.

Fast forward to now. I went back in. Saw him again. I’ve never been the type to talk about chemistry, unless of course it’s a class and we’re creating water. (True story. Made water in one chem lab. Best high school teacher.) We still have what is colloquially known as chemistry. It’s really more like electricity. That would be closer to the scientific truth, not that I like to be annoyingly precise (think Dr. Temperance Brennan on Bones). That’s the interesting part to me. It’s not what happened as a 20 year old kid, but three years later and how there’s still electricity. However, me being me, I would never date him again. He isn’t exactly available from what I glean from my highly accurate and reliable sources (the internets).

I won’t go back because I’m stubborn and have some strong opinions when it comes to relationships. It’s not that my rules are silly, like I won’t call a guy or ask his sorry ass out. I’m also not the type to leave my flaws in the dark. I’d rather shine the light right on them and face them head on. It’s better to know sooner rather than later in my book. These do not make good surprises. And regardless, of my faults, I do not expect nor require a man to fix me. I save my own ass, thank you. I figure, there’s a reason we’re not together. Why should I question that? If it was “meant to be,” it’ll be. Must not be that way because I’m severely single, but extremely happy. I don’t want to be in a relationship for the sake of being in a relationship. Been there. It sucked. I refuse to sell myself short. I’m fully aware I can’t change a man anymore than I can change the stars in the night sky; I just have to accept them as they are.

I know I’ve made mistakes. And I’ve seen others make some. It’s not the mistakes that are important most of the time, but the lessons learned and how to apply them.

Leave a Reply

